Worker Visa Australia

Australia skilled worker visa

Effective since July 1, 2015, the new points system has been rolled out the below mentioned Skilled Migration Visas. The Qualifying Score is now 60 points for Skilled Subclasses:

  • Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189)
  • Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)
  • Skilled Regional Sponsored Visa (Subclass 489)

Occupation Lists:

Skilled Occupation List (SOL)

The current Skilled Occupation List (SOL) is relevant for applicants for:

  • Independent points-based skilled migration who are not nominated by a state or territory government agency
  • A Family Sponsored Points Tested visa
  • Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485) - Graduate Work stream.

Consolidated Sponsored Occupation List (CSOL)

The current Consolidated Sponsored Occupation List (CSOL) is relevant for applicants for:

  • Points-based skilled migration who are nominated by a state or territory government agency under a State Migration Plan.

Department of Immigration and Citizenship Australia introduced ANZSCO w.e.f July 1, 2010. Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO) is a system developed to collect, publish and analyze occupation statistics across government agencies and is being introduced by the department as the new standard to capture occupation information in all visa, settlement and citizenship programs.

NOTE: Department of Immigration & Border Protection (DIBP) and Australian States/ Territories accept the following English Language Proficiency Tests:

• International English Language Testing System (IELTS)

• Pearson Test of English (PTE- Academic)

• Test of English as a Foreign Language - Internet Based Test (TOEFL- iBT)

• Cambridge English: Advanced (CEA)

General Skilled Migrant Program

Australia’s economy remains one of the strongest in the world, offering millions of jobs every week, making it an extremely preferred destination for highly skilled young people. It also exhibits that Australian employers require skilled workforce for achieving their organizational goals.

The eligibility of skilled migrants, who desire to immigrate to Australia, is assessed on a point-based system. In this system, points are awarded after considering the age, work experience, qualifications and language proficiency of the aspirant.

The applicants need to satisfy the following threshold requirements-

  • Submit an expression of interest (EOI)
  • Have an occupation that is on the relevant skilled occupation list
  • Be under 50 years of age at the time of applying for a visa
  • Meet the threshold English language requirement of competent English
  • Have a suitable skills assessment for that occupation
  • Be able to score at least 60 on the points test.

Have questions? Ask a specialist